Eligible Institutions

The Ohio Higher Educational Commission (OHEFC) may assist those educational institutions that are designated as not-for-profit institutions and hold an effective certificate of authorization issued under Section 1713.02 of the Revised Code. Specifically, these are independent, nonprofit colleges, universities and other institutions offering instruction in recognized academic and professional fields, which have been authorized by the Ohio Department of Higher Education to award one or more types of degrees. For more specific information see Section III of Background, Policies and Procedures.

Please note that such eligible institutions do not include publicly owned colleges, universities, and institutions created under Chapter 33 of the Ohio Revised Code, nor any institution whose principal educational activity is preparing students for granting degrees, diplomas, and other marks of proficiency that have value only in religious and ecclesiastical fields.

OHEFC may similarly assist nonprofit healthcare providers under Chapter 140 of the Revised Code.

Institutions for which OHEFC Has Issued Bonds since 1968